Lake Arrowhead – Winter Sun


One of the grumbles about So Cal is the lack of seasons.

Not true-Sometimes you do have to drive a little visit them though.

Last weekend we packed (what felt like) our entire wardrobes into our 2 wheel drive car, squashed in the kids and  set off for Lake Arrowhead.

A mere 2 hours later & more than a little shaken having braved the mountain drive that took us up 5,180 feet, we arrived  to a world transformed by snow, within minutes we were off down the street on our various plastic sliders.

We instantly forgot torrential rain,  sleet, fog and complete lack of visibility  on the road known as “The Rim of the World” & packed  away all thoughts of the treacherous drive down the following day.

For 24 hours we built snow forts, made snow angels, ate snow and of course lots more sledding followed by hot chocolate next to the log fire.

Finally it was time to  snap chains on the tires and head back off down the mountain to be  greeted by 70 degrees and sun!

I love to visit seasons, but having to commute through them, no thanks. I’m quite happy sitting in 65 degrees today, working in my outdoor office listening to the bees.

NB.I had packed wellies (rain boots), sweat pants, jackets, scarves, gloves and lots and lots of socks, but the one item I am always banging on about, I forgot my sunscreen, it was below freezing and I came back with a sunburned nose-will I ever learn!

 

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lake Arrowhead – Winter Sun

  1. Greg Frucci says:

    oh how i miss the West Coast…
    variety of Life…
    thank you for sending to a wonderful place in my mind.

  2. Chanel Hason says:

    I love Lake Arrowhead! Looks like it was a fun snowy time :D

  3. Arpad Marton says:

    ohh I miss the snow…its been over 25years…

  4. bigron42 says:

    We used to go up to Arrowhead when we lived in San Bernardino. We loved it up there.

  5. sunnysleevez says:

    It was my first time, I couldn’t believe how beautiful it is up there. Every house is a different design, covered in snow it was just magical!
    I can’t wait to go back when it warms up.

  6. Lake Arrowhead looks so enticing. As you are an English person living abroad, I think you will appreciate how interesting it is for us to see the reality of living in LA as to what we imagine it to be. I had no idea that if you drove for two hours you would reach the snow.

  7. miss p says:

    Great pictures….being in Eugene, OR I don’t get to see much snow, but last week we had a freak storm of 7.5 inches and it shut the town down for 3 days. It was fun, but I think I am a sunshine hoarder, I am ready for the sunshine, the warmth….no more rain, damp, or cold!!

  8. And we here in Illinois missed the usual snow and cold you so enjoyed completely. Winter just passed us by. Good you caught up with it in your neck of the woods.

  9. puppy1952 says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun – Have very seldom had snowy experiences but love it when I do. Its something most kids in our warm climate only dream about.

  10. Lack of seasons? We have lots of seasons here:
    » Rainy season
    » Drought season
    » Spring (lasts about a month)
    » Summer (lasts about nine months)
    » Fall (lasts about a week)
    » Winter (lasts a couple of days)
    » Fire season
    » Tourist season

  11. Back in the 1967 when I was still an active US Marine stationed at Camp Pendleton, a few fellow Marines from New York, in the same unit, complained about the lack of snow in California. I offered to take them to the slopes of Mt. San Antonio in the San Gabriel Mountains above Los Angeles, so they could go camping and possibly find some snow. The Saturday I dropped them off at about 5,000 feet in front of a lodge (the elevation of Mt. San Antonio is over 10,000 feet—I’ve hiked to the top many times in all types of weather including a blizzard—once! ), there was no snow on the ground. That night, the clouds rushed in from the ocean and dropped a ton of snow on them.

    The call came at 2 AM.

    The three New Yorkers had hiked up the mountain above 8,000 feet and pitched their camp. When the blizzard hit, they struggled to stay warm and couldn’t see their hands if they stretched their arms out the snow was coming down so thick.

    To make a long story short, they managed to set fire to their tent and gear as they struggled to keep a fire going and then stumbled down the mountain (or rolled) and made it to the lodge at 5,000 feet elevation where I dropped them off and used a pay phone to call me so I would come and pick them up. They lost all their gear in the fire trying to stay warm and smelled very smoky.

    They never complained about snow in California again and never asked about going camping again.

    :o)

  12. Looks like a beautiful place to visit!

Leave a Reply

