Breast Cancer Awareness – Reduce Your Risk Tip #4 – Exercise regularly the rest of your life


4. Exercise regularly the rest of your life. Many studies have shown that regular exercise provides powerful protection against breast cancer. Aim for 30 minutes or more of moderate aerobic activity (brisk walking) five or more days a week. Consistency and duration, not intensity, are key!

A study of more than 3,000 women from Long Island, N.Y., found that women who engaged in 10 to 19 hours of at least mild exercise per week from their reproductive years on had about a 30 percent lower risk of developing breast cancer. The effects of physical activity were strongest among postmenopausal women, based on the data analysis.

According to the American Cancer Society, the average woman in the U.S. has about a 1-in-8 chance of developing breast cancer and a 1-in-36 chance of dying from it. As scary as this statistic may be, women have the power to diminish their risk of breast cancer. Exercising regularly not only keeps body weight in check and reduces fat cells, but it also boosts the immune system which reduces the number of cell-damaging “free radicals” in the body. More importantly, it’s never too late to start. Lauren McCullough, lead researcher at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, notes that “evidence suggests that if you start [exercising] after menopause, you can still help yourself.”

The key to regular exercise is finding something you enjoy, I hate repetition so I rotate hill hikes with jogging, swimming, yoga & dance as well as a bit of weight training.

What’s your favorite form of exercise?

sunnysleevez.com

50+UPF Sunny Sleevez

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Breast Cancer, Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Breast Cancer Awareness – Reduce Your Risk Tip #4 – Exercise regularly the rest of your life

  1. amphomma says:

    Every night, I have a mental debate about whether or not I will exercise. Too tired. Too this, too that. Thank you for giving me another good reason to “just do it”. As for favorites:
    Evening walks with my family–not vigorous since there are little ones involved, but great time together.
    Tennis with my husband or parents.
    Running.
    Treadmill/elliptical/weight room.
    Free via cable workout shows right at home.
    At-home exercise is most realistic for this season of life!
    Oh, here’s a non-traditional one: carrying a 24 pound toddler while pulling a full grocery cart. Follow up with bringing all the groceries inside! Housework is great exercise!!

    • chrism579 says:

      I really know where you are coming from. Recently, I read this article about how a 10 minute walk can realy make a difference in your health (it did emphasize doing more), so I started making it my business to do it. I walked 1 way for 5 minutes and back. There is an app called Map My Walk which shows you the calories burned, paces, and actually shows your walking route in real time on a map. I hope this helps.

  2. jeantyc says:

    I try to exercise everyday – I hula hoop 15 minutes everyday and try to make it to they gym 5 days a week

  3. Raani York says:

    Hi,
    My favorite form of excercise is Martial Arts. Still – after so many years I prefer this to anything else. I do go skiing and swimming and horse back riding once in a while, but my heart lies with the Martial Arts. :-)

  4. I would love to re-post this on my blog as I’m struggling with a chance of breast cancer. I’m trying to find something I love to do too….

  5. I get on my exercise bike every night, no matter how tired I am- It has become a habit- I have it right in front of my TV, so I don’t even remember that I am riding-

  6. Nicotime says:

    With a lively 8 month old puppy exercise is easy! Even in the pouring rain she still needs a walk, so putting it off is not an option – and it’s lovely to see that wagging tail when we go into the park! Lifting her (15kg+) on to her grooming table is good weight training and I do Pilates every week to guard against back problems.

  7. Pingback: Breast Cancer Prevention Tips « Suanqu

Leave a Reply

