The secret to warming up, getting your antioxidants and reviving dry winter skin


cup of tea

The secret to warming up, getting your antioxidants and reviving dry winter skin can be as easy as putting the kettle on.  This low cost, delicious  miracle in a mug is of course tea!

Being English my kettle rarely get a chance to cool between brews. It’s great to know that 2 of my favorite beverages also promote a variety of health benefits.

  • Green tea is made from leaves which are not fermented and therefore, have the highest level of polyphenols (also known as flavonoids), which are chemical compounds that act as a defense mechanism against harmful environmental conditions. They can help to clear cell damage on the skin, reduce inflammation,  protect against free radicals and keep your skin looking smooth and youthful. For extra beautification apply green tea directly to the skin.
  • Black tea is made from the same leaves as green tea. It contains ten times more antioxidants than found in fruit and vegetables. It also contains the aflavins and thearubigens that can contribute to your health generally. Researchers found that adding milk to black tea reduces its antioxidant, and anti-inflammatory effects, so for maximum benefits, skip the milk and try a squeeze of lemon instead. Black tea works very well when applied to skin. It’s strong antioxidants along with vitamins E and C fight the free radicals that can cause premature aging.
  • Used tea bags are terrific as an astringent that soothes puffy eyes, spots and blemishes.
  • Don’t neglect your water consumption. Good hydration leads to skin that glows and looks naturally younger!
  • Drink up and stay looking gorgeous year round from the inside out.sunny sleevez logo
About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Health, Skin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The secret to warming up, getting your antioxidants and reviving dry winter skin

  1. I love green tea, I drink at least two cups a day!

  2. Love love tea. Could mainline the stuff. Thanks for following my blog.

  3. jorocheleau says:

    Oh, yes – I’m all for tea! Thanks for following my blog. :)

  4. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog! And I love tea, too – my grandparents were Scottish, so I think it’s in my blood!

  5. awkwardcharm says:

    I too am very pale and have no business being in the sun! :) This is a great post. I like to drink tisane teas, especially before bed — do you know if they are any good?

  6. The benefits of tea, especially green teas, cannot be overstated and it’s also delicious! Thanks for visiting my blog, too.

  7. For Christmas, people should definitely drink more tea and less champagne ! Thank you for the follow ! Healthy wishes from Marseille, France, and have a fabulous X-mas !!!

  8. willbfit says:

    What great timing. I was just telling my kids that i would like a tea kettle because i world like to begin drinking more tea!! Your post just convinced me to get one!! Happy holidays!!

  9. Thank you for following my blog, I’m following you as well. Your blog is filled with great content! Love this post about tea and going to share it on Facebook with our Bad Hatters Tea Club.

  10. I looove green tea it really does help!

  11. jsresults says:

    I love the water comment. Consuming an adequate amount of water is VITAL! Many more individuals need to up this on their importance list

  12. elskenewman says:

    This is all good news for a tea addict like me :-)

  13. A very good and informative blog that held my interest. Keep up the great work.

  14. st sahm says:

    I’ve discovered “white” teas…so light and fragrant…

  15. words4jp says:

    As of late, I have been existing on tea – thanks to a nasty cold.
    Thanks for following me and letting me know your blog exists! I look forward to reading your other entries. kimberly

  16. irishcsred says:

    I am literally on my way to get some Black Tea!! Thanks :)

  17. gregorypaquin says:

    I’m typically a coffee drinker, but I love tea! Thank you for the info!

  18. Really informative stuff! And thank you for stopping by my blog and checking it out. I really appreciate it!

  19. forkinriver says:

    I’m obsessed with tea. There are just too many varietals, flavors, brands…you could never get tired of drinking tea. There’s always something new to try. And my mom swears that drinking black tea doesn’t make her as jittery as coffee does. I was raised by a tea drinker. It’s in my blood. Thanks for reminding me of all the benefits this habit can provide. Cheers!

  20. I’m going through a tea phase, too! It helps with the winter chills. Thanks for following my blog; I’ll make sure you to visit yours often! -Katrina

  21. Nice to see you’re a fellow tea addict! :-)

  22. sachemspeaks says:

    Green tea with honey, lemon and a dash of cinnamon for your cold works.
    I remember going to Scotland and meeting up with some girls that said “Let’s go to the sea”
    I didn’t know at the time in November they meant go for a swim? :-(

  23. Jessica says:

    I needed to see this! I have a terrible time with dry scaly hands in winter! Ugh. Thank you for the great tips! :)

  24. Agent Spicy says:

    Thanks for the great info. I haven’t tried black tea yet. I don’t know why I hesitate when I’m contemplating trying out new tea. I love camomile, red raspberry, and green tea. I made a rice flour, honey, and green tea face mask. It made my face feel so soft and it helped reduce the inflamed blemishes I had at that time.

  25. siriusdogon says:

    good post will keep it in my favorites list

  26. silverlining09 says:

    I really believe in the power of Green Tea. I have packs of Green tea here. But the thing is… I’m a coffee addict. So I end up gulping 4 cups of coffee a day and no green tea. I guess it’s time to do some re-focus if I really want to have a healthy living. Thanks for the post!

  27. Green Tea seems to be helping me lose weight faster too unless its in my head :/

  28. My mom drinks tea continually throughout the day, every day. She takes her (black) tea w/ milk and I learned to enjoy the taste when I was a kid. As an adult, my go-to tea is green and I start up the kettle late morning to fill my teapot for consumption throughout the afternoon. I reheat it in the microwave, though…is that bad for the tea? Maybe I should get a cupwarmer?

    I could never understand everyone’s love of iced tea (gak!), until I finally tried it completely unsweetened: so refreshing in the summer!

    Hey Florida Bride Mag, I too think it’s helping me w/ my diet. Every time I want to snack, I get a hot cup of tea and start sipping until the munchies go away!

    Thanks for following my blog Sunny Sleevez…

  29. more fantasticness……. im learning! thank you

  30. Pingback: Summer’s Not Over! Try Adding Sun Protection To Your Breakfast | Sunny Sleevez

Leave a Reply

