Check ’em – Shout for the Cause


On Sunday we found play dates for the kids and headed to the valley meet friends. 

Our friend Ryan was back in town for a few days but despite wine, music and nibbles it wasn’t the usual raucous social event, someone was missing.

He was here without his wife Mary this time. The reason we were there to see him was because Mary won’t be contributing her unmissable laughter to our gatherings ever again.

In 2009 she was diagnosed with breast cancer. We thought she had it beat.

Only five months ago they moved to Louisville to start a new life. They bought their first house, she was looking forward to a spring vegetable garden.

She was looking forward to a quiet life after the stress of Los Angeles, after the stress of beating cancer. She was looking forward to so much.

Earlier this year the cancer returned, on March 14th it stole her away.

We’ve raced thousands of miles for a cure, we’ve shopped endless pink-ribbon adorned clothes, jewelry & water bottles, for a cure and yet still breast cancer kills so many women every year.

Whilst I do sincerely wish for a cure for those currently fighting this disease, it strikes me that perhaps the focus should be more on the prevention and we should be focusing on research into  the cause of this and other cancers.

Perhaps we should be “Searching for the Cause”

Mary found her lump during a self exam, I realized at the end of last year that I couldn’t remember the last time I had found the time to get around to doing this, so I started a fb page to post a reminder to my friends each month.

If you would like to get this reminder in your timeline go to http://www.facebook.com/pages/Check-em-keep-em  “like” the page, invite your friends.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0LgIu35ULo&feature=

sunnysleevez.com

50+UPF Sunny Sleevez

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Check ’em – Shout for the Cause

  1. bigron42 says:

    We worked with Relay for Life in Orlando last year. We were happy to see so many survivors and hear their stories. Sorry to hear about Mary. I lost my father to colon cancer. My wife lost her mom due to cervical cancer. My niece of 50 dies of pancreatic cancer just last December. And it goes on and on.

  2. So sorry to hear about the loss of your dear friend.

  3. Misifusa says:

    So sad to hear about your friend Mary…being a survivor myself and having lost friends along the way, you are in my thoughts, especially at this time. I found your youtube video ~ you are talented! Keep up the great work…thinking of you. xo

  4. Thank you for visiting my blog and following. Cancer is such an ugly disease!! Your post is fantastic!!

  5. sheryllrea says:

    Thanks for sharing this very sad story, and so sorry to hear of your loss.
    In fact I am going in tomorrow to see my Dr. because I found a lump. It is a good idea to do self-exam each month.
    Just recently I lost my uncle to lung cancer; an aunt to kidney cancer, and more relatives to some type of cancer.

  6. I’m so sorry for your loss. And I agree with you about more research into the causes of these cancers and other diseases. I can’t help but think many of the things we do and products we use have something to do with it, things for which we don’t yet have long-term studies.

    • sunnysleevez says:

      I agree, there have to be links between what we eat, drink, breath and put on our skin.
      My grandparents lived into their late 70’s to mid 80’s, like people of the time they cooked with lard, treated PST with a stiff drink and smoked heavily. Yet my uncle (40’s) , aunt (50’s) another aunt, my mum, my mother in law (in their 60’s) all died from different cancers. Mary was one of 3 of my friends diagnosed with breast cancer in the past couple of years.

  7. What a beautiful tribute to a lady whom I never met, but you valued and obviously treasured as a friend. Dying from cancer has become somewhat a “yeah, and so…” statement to many people. And, it should never be viewed that way. We are living, caring, loving human beings who have brought value to the people in our corner of our world. Your blog about Your friend is special.

    I have uranium poisoning which will turn into some sort of cancer in the end, which is coming closer and closer…my doctor even admitted that my death certificate won’t say, “here is Patti with uranium poisoning…” the death certificate will indicate a cancer of some sort. So the truth is there are environmental events ongoing everywhere that may give you an ending called CANCER. Every little thing you can do to help end this is an honorable thing. Thank you from me!

  8. I am so sorry for your loss. Cancer is a heavy load to carry. I was diagnosed with Cervical cancer a few years back…it was a very heavy load for myself and my daughter. The treatments can be brutal…But I came out the victor in that fight. It is so important to get yearly exams and to do self breast exams , as well. You are doing a great service to so many women.

    Peace to you

  9. I read this pretty much by accident and it broke my heart this Easter Sunday. I am very sorry about your friend Mary and you are so, so right. It’s about prevention. I wish things worked out differently for her but what she left behind is awareness alongside her garden.

  10. bruceditata says:

    We have a friend who is undergoing breast cancer treatment and she revealed that in her town the incidence of breast cancer is increased among those families whose yards are “protected” by a certain pesticide. That speaks to the core of prevention. How does a company dare to market a product that is harmful to us?

  11. we should really be concentrating more on prevention than cure.

Leave a Reply

