Granny Joins Gang To Take The Capital!


At an age when many are folks are planning their retirement, pottering in the garden and watching the world go by from their rocking chair,  gutsy granny Marcia  is shrugging off her slippers,  sporting a ‘Tribal Tattoo’ on each arm & rocking into her biker boots as she revs her engine & joins a motorcycle gang!!!

To be fair the “Tribal Tattoos” are her sun safe and super cool, 50+ UPF Sunny Sleevez and this Grandma’s gang are less about raising-hell and more about raising awareness.

Marcia is joining the “Ride for the wall” an organization who’s mission statement is to Tribal design sunnysleevezpromote healing among ALL veterans and their families and friends, to call for an accounting of all Prisoners of War and those Missing in Action (POW/MIA),.

RFTW southern route took off from Southern California on May 16th, Marcia plans to join them  from her home in Texas then continue across the US ending in  Washington DC to join with the May 27th  XXV  Rolling Thunder Run.

Riders from around the nation, and even around the world rally at the Pentagon and begin the run through the streets of Washington, D.C.   a display of patriotism and respect for all who defend our country.

Says Marcia

“As a military brat I’ve traveled all kinds of ways, all over the world…but other than a stint  in Spain as a teenager when our only transportation was a bike, I’ve never done anything like this…but I’m ready…here’s a couple pictures of my trike…I took the first just after I bought my ‘big’ flags last year…I also ride with the Patriot Guard to honor vets who have died and we fly them during funeral processions…The second was taken the first or second day after I bought it and I was hamming it up, showing off the trike and my new helmet…It’s a great toy for an old Granny like me! I’m soooo ready to go!

I’ll let you know how it goes!”

I for one can’t wait to hear more about this amazing journey-safe travels Marcia!

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Granny Joins Gang To Take The Capital!

  1. Casey B says:

    Great post! Thanks for taking the time to let us know about this. 🙂

    Take care,

    Casey

  2. MegsFitness says:

    That’s an awesome cause that she’s riding in. And timely, too! May is Motorcycle Awareness Month and I’m sharing some important info during a seminar at work about how motorists can be more careful and watchful for both bicycles and motorcycles on the road.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. I love this! Thanks for sharing 🙂 Brightened my day.

  4. Patt says:

    Thank you for deciding to follow my bananas and prunes blog. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I’m going to look for your product. It sounds like something that would be very beneficial to me and Bill living out here in the sunny southwest.

  5. evea192 says:

    This granny rocks!! Love the motorbike as well and a good cause they are doing things for.

Leave a Reply

