Could Lindsay Lohan’s latest legal woes be life threatening?


Lindsay Lohan allegedly owes a tanning salon over $40,000 and still has not paid the bill, even after a judge ordered her to nine months ago.

In November, Tanning Vegas filed a suit in Nevada, claiming that Lohan had hired the company to cater to the star’s tanning needs. Tanning Vegas’ owner, Lorit Simon, told the court that Lohan owes $41,031.60 in unpaid charges.

A judge ordered her to pay the money immediately, but Lohan has yet to do so.

Now Simon is taking the case to Lohan’s home state of California in an attempt to reclaim the lost money. She has petitioned the court to garnish Lohan’s wages until the full amount has been paid.

However the cost Lindsay may ultimately pay may be much, much higher.

The World Health Organization classifies sunbeds in the most serious category of cancer-causing products and habits. In the mostly sun-starved UK, cases of malignant melanoma have more than quadrupled in just the last 30 years, and the disease is the second most common form of cancer in 15 to 34-year-olds.

Donna Ballantyne spent a decade battling 19 tumours after she started going on sun beds aged 16 died from skin cancer.

The mum-of-three  blasted herself twice a week with its UV rays and ultimately her body became riddled with tumors — prompting her fight to warn others of the risks.

Donna, 39, began developing melanoma — the most dangerous form of skin cancer — nine years ago and it spread round her body.

Speaking two before her death, she said: “If I could turn back time, I wouldn’t have spent even one second of my life on a sun bed.

”I am convinced that if I had never been near a sunbed I would not have been left fighting for my life after skin cancer spread around my body.

Donna used the beds twice a week from the age of 16 until she was 22.

Donna — an ambassador for the Fake Bake Save Your Skin Campaign — at first thought she had beaten the disease when after a tiny bruise-like mark on her arm was found in 2002, it was removed.

But in 2006 Donna, found a lump under her arm and an emergency operation failed. She then underwent intensive chemotherapy to try to shrink 19 tumors which had spread to her liver, stomach, leg and neck, meaning she lost all her hair, nails and over 40lbs.

She finally lost her battle on 23 Jun 2011 leaving behind her devastated young children.

Have you ever used a sunbed? Do you still?

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Health, Sun Safe Info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Could Lindsay Lohan’s latest legal woes be life threatening?

  1. I certainly hope that she is spray tanning and not bed tanning. She’s been seem with the ever present white at her hairline where the cap covers the hair. Also white hands and feet. I can relate because I used to be a redhead (color changed after 40 to mousy brown/dirty blond) but a redhead that did get tan in the sun. When I learned that it was much faster to get spray tanned, this was my out from sunbathing. So, hopefully for her sake she is not bed tanning???

    Further more, how does someone get $41,000 accumulated in tanning costs by the age of 25? Also, one would think that after she owed $100.00 in unpaid tans that she would be cut off … like I would be.

    • sunnysleevez says:

      it’s odd isn’t it, my 1 exp of going to a tanning bed before a holiday was I had to pay up front for a package of sessions.
      I know celebs get free stuff or it’s assumed they have deep pockets to settle up later, but given that LL is famous for getting intoxicated and fired she’s hardly either a great spokes-person for a product or a reliable customer!

      I do worry about the long term safely of the spray stuff too. If chemicals from sunscreen can be absorbed into the system who knows what is in the spray, not to mention the inhalation danger.

  2. Exactly; an all accounts!

    My first experience… actually two; I did one pre-paid for 10-sessions tanning bed. This was for a very special occasion and I swore I’d never do it again.

    I’m 57 (today) and I’ve already had two precancerous spots removed from my lower lip that fortunately did not disfigure me at all. The first area had been something annoying me for years and it took my dentist to point out that it needed to be looked at. Also, one from my shoulder and 4- or 5 small area surgeries on my chest, years ago. But, I was a sun-worshiper and used the least of sunscreen possible. In ‘those days’ we didn’t have sunscreens and if people used them, they were sissy’s — like, how do you get a tan with sunblock?

    (Don’t even ask what my mom is going through right now – among many areas, she just completed eyelid cancer radiation!)

    Then, I tried it and yes, you CAN get a tan with sunblock!!

    Later experiences with spray tanning “booths” were also “pre paid” but I was lured in with a 1/2-off coupon and toward 10-sessions. $99 for 10 sessions and only 1/3-of them worked. It depends in my opinion how fresh the dye they are spraying on you is. Sometimes I got beautifully dark and other times, I could hardly tell I had the tanning session.

    I agree and forgot to mention about the effects of the tanning sprays. I always held my breath; literally and do hope there will be no ‘when I am 90’ skin mutations as a result!

  3. Anna F. says:

    I cringe to say this, but I started using beds at 14 and didn’t stop until 20. I didn’t use them that frequently, but still the thought of using them and how I would bake in the natural sun scares me. Oh and I was a lifeguard for 3 years. I’m now much more careful (and less vain thankfully). I do wonder about the chemicals in spray tan and sunscreen as well. I like to cover up with light weight long sleeves and hats. Does the trick. Thanks for the post- L.L. is nuts!

  4. I did use a sunbed once back in 1993. Considering that I lived in San Diego, I just didn’t see the purpose.

Leave a Reply

