DIY Fly Trap – put an end to nasty pests – FREE


DIY FLY TRAP

We spend a lot of time outside & one of our big challenges with outdoor living are a huge quantity disgusting flies!

In the past I’ve bought traps and bait (that smelled foul) & they have been really helpful.

However I have found a great DIY solution to keep the population down and best of all you can make this fly trap yourself from used plastic bottles which appeals muchly to my reusing ethos and also makes it FREE!

Here is a method to make an efficient fly trap from one of your used plastic water bottles.

This is great for all sorts of domestic flies, blow flies and fruit flies

Materials: scissors, a hacksaw or sharp knife and some packing or electric tapediy fly trap before

BAIT- a small chunk of meat chopped into the water will attract blowflies or a small amount of cat/dog poo with a little water. This will cook nicely in the warm air and attract flies like, well like flies on ****!

1)     Collect a plastic bottle,  it doesn’t seem to matter if it’s a large soda bottle or a single serve water bottle

2)      If any black bases that are often on the larger plastic bottles, remove these.

3)     Cut through the plastic bottle about 1/3rd of the way downDIY FLYTRAP CUT TOP OFF BOTTLE

4)     Place the bait in first to stop getting this over the entry section as the flies will happily feed on this and not enter the trap.

5)     Invert the top 1/3rd section of the cut bottle and place in the bottom 2/3rds as indicated in the illustration.

6)     Tape or glue the bottle together, I used a few staples first then sealed the 2 edges with wide packing take

7)     Optional – Cut some wire in to a ‘U’ shape with some right angled ends that turn in towards the bottle. Either cut a small hole or heat the wire to burn a hole. This will be used as a hanger to be placed over a branch, on a fence, nail, etc.

Now your trap is ready to hang wherever you need it.

The trap works by luring the flies in to enjoy a feed. They are trapped and eventually die. In turn, the flies rot and attract more flies. You will find the stink quite strong, so keep away from the house.

I made my first one this weekend, the cats obligingly provided a little bait & I placed it on the ground in some dead leaves.

I checked on it a couple of hours later, it had got knocked over so was lying on the dead leaves at a 45 degree angle and had more than a dozen flies already trapped!

I was astonished how effective it was. No need to pay for expensive variations so I have made a couple more

NOTE: Once the bottle is full of dead flies, empty it in to your garden and bury the rotting insects. It makes a great nitrogen fertilizer, but it does rather pong!

Bonus -No nasty chemicals used

sunnysleevez.com

50+UPF Sunny Sleevez

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

89 Responses to DIY Fly Trap – put an end to nasty pests – FREE

  1. I wonder if honey would be a good bait for fruit flies? Thank you for sharing! I just wish I could share this on Facebook!

    • Shawn Bird says:

      Fruit flies- in a glass, add a couple of tbsps of apple cider vinegar with a drop or two of dishwashing detergent. Stir. Set it by your fruit. It will clear fruit flies away within a day. (You’ll notice corpses in the first hour). Simple and incredibly effective!

    • Yeah I also do the small glass jar with cling wrap over the top. But first put vinegar and water with a drop or two of detergent. Mix with your finger then cover with the cling wrap. Poke a few holes in the cling wrap so the fruit flies can crawl in. Put it next to the fruit you keep out. Like the other person says, corpses floating in it within hours

  2. I mix up a yummy gooey sweet liquid to attract all but honey and Bumble Bees (Iyellow jackets,wasps)
    My Hummingbirds seem to always have to fight for their nutrition so I hand a 2 liter bottle with a small hole right where it curves before the neck I put Red Wine Vinegar,Sugar there are different ones avail online and it works like a charm I will try yours for flies! I heard you could hand a few pennies in a zip lock baggie but have had no luck so thanks for this post!

    • sunnysleevez says:

      oh thanks for the wasp trap remedy, they aren’t a problem at home but are awful when we go camping

    • wattsays says:

      Just a word of caution, wasps are a very important member of the Eco world. They pollinate plants and eat garden pests. I know they can be a b****y nuisance at times but if you don’t bother them they won’t bother you. I’m talking UK wasps here I have no experience with what you might call wasps in the US. Thanks for the fly-trap details I’ll certainly give it a try in the summer.

  3. belocchio says:

    Living on a farm I think this idea is brilliant. I would like to keep the flies away from out patio area. Virgiia

  4. Masum says:

    Awesome! I’ll make some too!

  5. Madoqua says:

    Where I live we have what is known as the “great Australian wave” – this is the wave to shoo flies from the face (we have millions of flies about in springtime when they breed madly in some areas). Traps like this one are used a lot, and they work very well!

  6. My computer seems to have missed the illustration. Whar’sit?

  7. Oh! I need the illustration and to make both traps! Thanks to nutsfortreasure, I may finally capture the wasps….I cannot find their nest! Too many grand kids running around the yard out here, and they love checking out the kds in the pool!

  8. Love this! Thanks so much – it will be a huge help (and help save money too). I’m definitely emailing myself a copy of this to keep.

  9. messiahhh says:

    I am definitely going to try this. Thank you. 🙂

  10. misswhiplash says:

    what a brilliant idea….I have purchased fly traps similar to this but they cost money…so this is well worth a try…thank you

  11. misswhiplash says:

    so enthusiastic about your fly trap , I forgot to thank you for visiting my blog God’s Creatures..that was so nice of you and I am so pleased because had you not done that I would not have heard of your fly trap..whoooppee!

  12. Barbara says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and for the follow! I like your blog. Keep on informing us!

  13. Chef LeeZ says:

    If you used dry ice to create co2 (which attracts mosquitoes) will draw in the mosquitoes. How to keep them in the bottle though?

  14. Thanks for following my blog. I am happy to have discovered yours, and love the idea of taking matters into my own hands and making some solutions for these pests.

  15. Don Mulcare says:

    Not to mention the fact that you are recycling a plastic bottle or two.

  16. pablovilas13 says:

    A variation we invented for meat-bees (yellowjackets) while camping: hang a piece of bacon on a string over a bucket of water. They’ll land on the meat and eat it until they can’t hang on, then fall in the water and drown. 8)

  17. Linda says:

    These traps really do work. For bait I heat 2 cups sugar and 2 cups water to dissolve the sugar. Then add 2/3 cup raw apple cider vinegar, 2/3 cup maple syrup and a chopped up banana peel.
    Put in a jar and set out side for to ferment. After about 3-4 day it is ready to use. Put about 1-2 inches deep in each trap.

  18. Great idea and thank you for sharing. Gosh, we needed this when we were eating outside at a restaurant this weekend. The flies were not letting up, we were swishing them away the whole meal. If I had known about this, I would have made one right on the spot, of course that is, if the restaurant would have supplied me with scissors and tape. 🙂 Thanks again. Great to know.

  19. Basharr says:

    Great post, this year we have had a huge influx in blow flies due to the county fair and the fact we back up to the fair grounds…lots of livestock drawing flies. I made a trap similar to this from a two liter bottle with a yeast bait to catch mosquitoes.

  20. Giovanni says:

    Hmmm…may try this. Will it work with hornets to?

  21. cbholganza says:

    good job! i will try this at home!!

  22. Cool, i think thsi will work, i will test it asap…thanks…

  23. VoyaGenius Innovations says:

    Reblogged this on Moveableshade Sunblock.

  24. Lissa Rabon says:

    Brilliant! I’m making a case of them. The horses send their love! Thank you!

  25. nantubre says:

    Thank you for following my blog. You actually blessed me because your blog is a gold mine and I’m happy I found you!

  26. sweettmama says:

    Thanks for the flytrap tip! We have fruitfles in the kithen. I cant stand them. I put redwine into a shallow bowl, cover with plastic wrap tightly. Then poke small holes using a fork. They go in and cant fly out. Its pretty gorss how many you trap in such a short period of time!

  27. Amanda says:

    thanks for the follow! Love this idea and think i’ll be using it during our long hot aussie summers when the flies try to take over!

  28. TOLA ADENLE says:

    Now, here’s a blog that is attracting those of us who have no recipes for despicable flies but other DIY experts like your good self, Sunnysleevez, the way all the above new-to-me contraptions attract flies!

    I’m twice blessed by the follow because this is a great blog where many people with great suggestions for use around the house seem to congregate. I’ve actually copied out all the suggestions above to be tried.

    Thanks,
    TOLA.

  29. Great idea, I live in the country around people who keep cattle and horses, and the flies are numerous! Thanks also for following my poetry blog.

  30. I would like to re-post this–with attribute–ans with your permission on blogwhatif.com

  31. I must be Dorothy’s Tin Man … and my fingers are getting rusty.

  32. hamichan says:

    Reblogged this on Hamichan's Weblog and commented:
    musim nyamuk begini… ladang lalat juga di mana2.. coba aahhh

  33. leoponton says:

    I use these to trap wasps. Just use coke or beer as bait and add a couple of drops of washing up liquid. The detergent reduces the surface tension and the wasps (or flies) drop straight through the surface of the liquid and drown.

  34. Thanks for this! I hate it when the flies torment my horses and I try to use green solutions as much as possible. These fly traps should be perfect for my needs.

  35. organizeusa says:

    Hi There, I noticed you are from London and living in LA. I am from Surrey, in the south of England and living in sunny Florida, (also fair skinned and blonde.) I love your blog 🙂
    Andrea

  36. Tom says:

    “It does rather pong.” Love the language! I’ll bet you attract all kinds of conversation in SoCal. And thanks for the tip!

  37. Geoff says:

    Nice trap!
    I will try it

  38. kat says:

    Thanks for the follow!
    I wonder if this will work for fungus gnats..they seem to love my indoor plants

  39. mummycuddle says:

    Reblogged this on MummyCuddle and commented:
    MummyCuddle: Perfect for the current hot Australian summer. With Australia Day almost here it’s time to start keeping for used plastic bottle so you can enjoy your BBQ without unwanted visitors.

  40. TRIKIMIA says:

    Hi! Thank you for a fantastic idea! We have lots of sunshine and warm days here in GREECE so we have also some flies all a round the year. Doors open all the day means these unpleasent things fly inside, too. I shall make these! Greetings from GREECE! Teje
    Ps. this comes now from my other blog. Thank you for following Nero’s Post and Patch!

  41. I love how easy this is and that it is a do it yourself way to catch those pesky bugs. As a kid my Mom had a yellow jacket trap (not do it yourself) and she would use wet cat food as the bait, it worked really well.

  42. anchorrock4 says:

    Interesting. About the flies, I mean.

  43. Akhiz says:

    awesome, in my country the summers are long so we have the fly problem almost 10 months a year, will definitely try it 🙂

  44. Very clever, thanks for sharing.

  45. bkpyett says:

    I love your fly trap and deodorant ideas, thank you for the great information!
    thank you also for following my blog, so exciting getting a few followers!

  46. Toma says:

    thank you for sharing! will need to do one of this quite soon

  47. geaoutdoors says:

    That fly trap is just too cool. I bet a little beer or soft drink would work. What do you think? Thanks for the follow. Have a great day. Scott

  48. geaoutdoors says:

    Reblogged this on GEA Outdoors & General Store Blog and commented:
    Hey guys, check this out.

  49. aishatbuter says:

    Reblogged this on aishatbuter and commented:
    Truly, zero chemicals should be encouraged.Using chemicals is not safe for the environment

  50. Reblogged this on Dog Leader Mysteries and commented:
    Don’t let flies lay eggs on your dog. Learn from Sunny how to make your own chemical free, and cost free fly traps!

  51. tonbrew says:

    Can’t wait to try this! Thanks for posting!

  52. kmoser56 says:

    Reblogged this on It's All About the Journey and commented:
    Yesterday a fly actually got into my house, I had to let him out by opening the screen, but I like the trap idea, but I’m thinking not with the meat, just a sweet juice. But it’s a great idea, thanks!

  53. megacychan says:

    very interesting! I am having trouble with flies everywhere I go, they seem to follow me around.
    Thanks for following my blog: megaworldtour.wordpress.com

  54. Danni says:

    I have used the same method of making this trap but using it for catching shrimp when out camping. Instead of a handle attach a long piece of strong string and drop it in at the river bank. You want a piece of meat for the bait.

  55. canacasa says:

    Wow.. This is very useful, I’ll keep the tips for next summer. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  56. When using chemicals use the best one for the enviroment. Did you aphids can be gotten rid of by using a garden hose and spraying the plant. Do again every 5 days until there are no aphids

  57. Thanks for following, glad you did or I wouldn’t have found this post. It’s like the plague at my parents house at the moment. They will be happy with this 😀

  58. Reblogged this on Ancien Hippie and commented:
    Check Out This Cool Advice

  59. lovessiamese says:

    Sorry for this long delay in responding. You liked one of my posts on Nov. 29. Just wanted to say thank you for visiting my blog and following. I have posted a link to your website on my blog. Your products are pleasing to the eye and priced reasonably. There’s a huge market out there for your line of products.

  60. Samuel Macharia (SirmaxforD) says:

    That’s simple and straight forward. Thanks

  61. YogaCat says:

    Always great to see non chemical solutions, and recycling (poo and flies!) such as this 🙂 Thanks for the like.

    Wishing you well in all that you do.

  62. Elinor says:

    Cool!
    I’ll have to give this a shot this summer! 🙂

  63. When I see fruit flies in the house, I know my fruit in the bowl on the dining room table is starting to go so I eat the fruit and the flies go. It saves me the trouble of having to make a fly trap from a plastic bottle although I will gladly tell you that your idea is brilliant! If you ever are in need of dog poo, come visit me because my neighbors think nothing of letting their dogs do their business on my lawn. Do you have any ideas to deter dogs because that is where I really need help! Complaints to the dog pound don’t do any good because they want a description of the dog and I don’t sit by my window watching for dogs all day so I can give them a description! All I have is the results of the dogs’ meals! And by the way, the lawn “gifts” do attract flies which somehow get into my house but it is too gross for me to pick up some strange dog’s poo and put it in a bottle! Ick! I let the rain wash it away and we have plenty of that here in Indianapolis! Oh, and when I get a fly or two in the house, I take out my trusty vacuum and vacuum them in mid-flight. You need a powerful suction for this and my Dirt Devil fills the bill.

  64. Sandy says:

    Reblogged this on Sandy Journalized and commented:
    As gross as this is, it’s brillaint!!

  65. Jonathan Nicholson says:

    This makes me miss my Venus fly trap,,,

  66. lbeth1950 says:

    Thanks. You are a genius!

  67. SD Gates says:

    I hate flies – this sounds like a great idea. Thank-you!!!!

  68. Arisetotrash says:

    Reblogged this on ARISE-TO-TRASH and commented:
    An interesting, chemical-free way to catch excess flies in your backyard.

    Not a bad idea, Sunnysleevez!

  69. Casas15 says:

    Great tips there, will try some asap. Spanish countryside is full of nasty insects right now. Thanks.

  70. That’s what I call very useful information,and definitely worth sharing!!
    Thankyou 🙂

  71. john van der poel says:

    I was wondering weather the sugar solution will catch and kill native bees, we see less and less bees here. John

  72. unionfan says:

    We’ve used solar traps to catch everything from flies to wasps and even Asiatic hornets this summer… much to the joy of our bees who getting rather picked on. Thanks for sharing.

  73. Love your DIY tips. Thanks for sharing

  74. mommykens726 says:

    We’re going to have to try this one.

Leave a Reply

