The Biggest Mistake Made Choosing Running Shoes


The biggest mistake a runner can make is choosing one shoe to serve all their needs – running, walking, every day wear, and so on. Running shoes have soles constructed from a more cushioned material to allow for maximum impact. When choosing the proper fit, everyone’s feet are different and brand makers design styles with that reality in mind. Wet your food and step on to a brown paper bag in order to get a good foot print. Trace around the wet marks so you can see exactly how your foot fits inside the running shoe. Take this tracing with you when making your purchase to help select the best fitting running shoe. Avoid super-fashionable styles endorsed by celebrities because, chances are, you’re paying for the branding and not necessarily a better running shoe.

The most popular brand for professional and Olympic runners this year is Adidas’ Adizero Primeknit running shoe.

Jenn Gย (Guest Blogger)

sunnysleevez.com

50+UPF Sunny Sleevez

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Biggest Mistake Made Choosing Running Shoes

  1. I need a good sturdy walking shoe have any ideas on that? Walking is how I will loose all my weight so I need to invest in a good one ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. TheRunningMama says:

    I’ve worn New Balance for years, and love them.

  3. I’m not a runner but I do like to walk everywhere. Not for sport, but rather as a mode of transport. For me, a shoe should to be comfortable and look good. I won’t have one without the other. Well, I’ve been known to walk a mile or two in a pair of uncomfortable but beautiful heels.

  4. nassosc says:

    Saucony is my brand of chouce, and dont forget to change your running shoes every 600k +/- depending on their condition

  5. I personally love the Skechers that claim to tone. They lost a suit against them, but I don’t know how. They are the most comfortable, bouncy shoes that encourage you to walk and coincidentally I have lost 7 lbs and toned up better since I purchased them because I do more in them. Maybe the shoes cannot tone, but they are good shoes.

  6. I just bought a pair of Nike running shoes. I wanted to go with Asics, but I have very sensitive skin on my heels that tear easily. Asics, Reebok and Adidas, even Saucony all have that mesh threading material on the back. I don’t like bloody feet or my recovery time if they blister so I bought the Nike Free Runs… ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Good post, I can definitely second all the information you posted above. Everyone will have different tastes and style that fits them well, I personally need something sturdy with arch support. The best shoes I have found for myself are usually either New Balance or Asics. Adidas and Nike seem to be better designed for your “average” foot, but definitely make sure you find a pair of shoes that are right for you. If not you can quickly end up with ankle, knee, hip, and lower back injuries and pain. If your foot isn’t aligned properly at impact, it throws everything else off all the way up to your torso.

  8. I need running shoes for very flat feet. Help!

  9. Good idea, i think i will try this tracing thing. Thanks for posting this . . .Helpful. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. PiedType says:

    Over the years I’ve always returned to New Balance for the best fit. And I’ve found choosing the right last to be the key to a proper fit and correct support.

  11. realityenchanted says:

    Beautiful. Thanks for the very true and useful bit of information. Now I know how to easily get my woman’s sole-print! Hehehe!
    And thanks for following my blog. Acknowledged!

  12. Jusy says:

    What a excellent post. I am so impressed. Really a good tips here. It is very helpful. Thanks for sharing it.
    his response

Leave a Reply

