New Years Resolution – This Is The Year I will Run – Couch 2 5K


running drink water hydrate sunny sleevez uv protection

A couple of years ago I started running with the Couch to 5K program which helps people start running 3-5k regularly.  I found it to be quite transforming. I have never been much of a runner, despite the fact that I’m physically active and enjoy swimming, hiking, dance and weights. Running just never spoke to me.

The Couch to 5K program was a revelation, starting with interval runs to help build endurance.  The first week you do eight 60 second runs, and in between you have 90 seconds of walking, it’s quit regulated.  I downloaded some podcasts which made sure my music was the right BPM. The announcements would tell me when to run and when to walk. There are also a number of apps you can download ( free – $2.99) that will track everything from distance to speed to calories burned.

To be perfectly honest, the first day of my first ever run since middle school, I was 50 seconds into my first run and I couldn’t quite decide if I was going to throw up or pass out but as I only had 10 more seconds, I thought “if I can survive 2 simultaneously whining kids I can get through  10 more seconds of running!” and by the time I had finished the thought it was time to walk again!

Over the course of Week 2, it became a lot easier. I didn’t always move up from week to week and sometimes I stayed a little longer on a week when I felt I wasn’t ready to move up. At Week 5 I became stuck, life took over and I got a little lazy.

My New Year’s resolution for 2013 is to complete all  9 weeks of the Couch to 5K. One of the changes I made to run in the morning rather than at night as I did previously. I find I don’t put it off because the weather is much cooler at 8:15 am in California. I’m on Week 2 and will probably stay for a second week before moving on to week three.ss NEW LOGO  BW 2011.ai

What new years resolutions did you make have you stuck with them so far?

If you want to join me you can find out more about C2 5K here 

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Years Resolution – This Is The Year I will Run – Couch 2 5K

  1. cdnpearly says:

    Congratulations! My story sounds similar to yours. One of my resolutions is to run the Santa Barbara International (Half) Marathon in November. I’m not a runner at all–got my black belt 7 years ago, but really nothing of athletic consequence since. I decided to use the Couch to Half Marathon program. Great program. Good luck! I look forward to reading about your progress.

  2. Brilliant says:

    Im getting there, fine this very encouraging!

  3. v says:

    Congrats. I hope you do well. I love running, body willing . 🙂

  4. Joy says:

    I love couch to 5K. I actually use an iPhone app called C25K. I’ve made it up to Week 6 but have had to go back to Week 4 for various reasons in the past few months. But I’ve lost 20 lbs, the running has totally changed my body (and my mind in a lot of ways), and my goal is to run (really run!) a 5K in May. Kudos to you for trying it!

    • sunnysleevez says:

      That’s brill, I have yet to shift any lbs but I suspect that has more to do with those (not so) occasional treats that also need go!
      I tried the app last time around but found it annoying. It might have changed since then so I’ll give it another go. Keep it up 😀

  5. Anissa Mathias says:

    Keep up the good work. I ride in an 18-wheeler now, and I trying to figure out how to turn it into my personal rolling gym. 🙂

  6. Chante says:

    Hi, everything is going nicely here and ofcourse every
    one is sharing facts, that’s genuinely excellent, keep up writing.

Leave a Reply

