Spray Sunscreen – Is It Safe?


SPRAY CAN SPRAY TAN

Sunscreens that come in a spray can seem like a pretty great idea; you can spray an even layer onto the skin and reach areas that you couldn’t otherwise reach, such as your back.

However, when you use a spray sunscreen you have to realize that whatever is in the can will most likely end up in your lungs. When you spray the sunscreen it shoots mist into the air that is easily breathed in by the user.

The chemicals used in sunscreen are not yet fully understood when it comes to how they affect the body.

The Environmental Working Group (EWG) reports that common chemicals such as PABA and Octyl Methoxycinnamate in spray and chemical sunscreens can alter the Endocrine System, which means your hormones can become confused. Inhaling these chemicals furthers the risk of future issues and is not recommended.

Instant, Chemical-Free Sun Protection You Never Have To Reapply

50+UPF Sunny Sleevez

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Health, Skin, Sun Safe Info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spray Sunscreen – Is It Safe?

  1. Thanks for sharing this info. I belief it’s crucial for the public to be aware. Did you know unrefined Shea butter has a natural sunscreen that equals a number 6? For lighter people with very sensitive skin it is not of much help but for others it might. I thought that might be an addition to your info 🙂

  2. Great information you are sharing. My wife and I have heard from our homeopathic doctor to be careful of which sunscreens we use.

  3. cdnpearly says:

    Thanks for this really important info. My daughter insists on using the spray stuff–I’m not a fan. Now I have some good ammunition to get rid of that stuff!

  4. Ron says:

    We always spray outdoors.

  5. pablovilas13 says:

    Never thought of that. And the art sure makes the point.

  6. xballerina says:

    Hi! Thanks for following me on xballerina! This is a wonderful blog. I am a fan of organic foods when possible, and all things natural/anti-chemical within reason. This post caught my attention because I tried spay on sunscreen this summer, and it was an unqualified disaster. I was very careful to spray myself several times during a day at the beach. However, I didn’t realize the wind was blowing away more of it than actually got on my skin. I ended up with one of the worst sun burns I’ve ever had! Severe redness, blistering, peeling, the works. And not only that, but I have the most bazarre blotchy tan now that I can’t get rid of! Ridiculous!!! And I hadn’t even thought about the fumes… yikes. Anyway, cheers!!

Leave a Reply

