Waiting to exhale- FDA Bans Loose Powder SPF


MINERAL SPF FDA BANS POWDER PINT

Not only should you not rely on your mineral make up for sun protection but it may actually be harmful to your health is the message from the FDA.

The problem is that users cannot know if they are applying a thick and even coating to give any significant UV protection.

In addition many powered sunscreens contain titanium or zinc nano-particles when breathed in, these loose airborne particles can end up in our lungs. The International Agency for Research on Cancer classifies inhaled titanium dioxide as “possibly carcinogenic to humans.

Currently the FDA over-the-counter rules prohibit loose powders to make claims of sun protection or advertise an SPF, but small manufacturers have until December of this year to remove products from the market.

Instant, Chemical-Free Sun Protection You Never Have To Reapply

50+UPF Sunny Sleevez

What do you think of the FDA ruling? Do you use loose powder SPF make-up? Do you feel it works well for you?

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Health, Skin, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting to exhale- FDA Bans Loose Powder SPF

  1. April says:

    I used to use mineral makeup. Loved it. No, it never worked against sunburn. I am fair skin as well. I always had to put on sunscreen before the makeup. And yikes! I had a cancerous nodule removed from my lungs 2 years ago–(former smoker, quit 24 years ago). I didn’t know that I could have been inhaling carcinogens. Ugh!

  2. The mineral makeup I use advertises SPF protection but I have never relyed upon it at my protection. I always base coat with sunscreen then makeup! Better safe than sorry!

  3. My Watering Can says:

    You mean all those mineral makeups the advertisers claimed were natural and not chemical laden like standard products?? I never use makeup except occasional eye pencil or mascara. Even then, that’s pretty rare. I had no idea about this latest development until I saw you post on it. I pay pretty close attention to toxic chemicals in body care products. Now I have one more to add to the list & let others know.

Leave a Reply

