Zucchini Pancake – Makes a great appetizer or light lunch!


ZUCCINI PANCAKES PINT

After our last batch of zucchini muffins I was left with several half grated zucchinis and the children thus far are still vehemently opposed to eating zucchini if not in cake form, if I want to use up leftovers and reclaim some space in the veg drawer I needed to get sneaky!

So last night I tried this recipe.

Apologies for lack of photo, I did cook a batch, they turned out pretty well (I thought) then I made my first mistake, I left them on the counter to be heated up for dinner whilst I went out for a quick pre-dinner run.

I was informed upon my return that, child 2 (the short and shouty one) “DOES NOT EAT NEW FOODS!”

So Child 1 had eaten a few with hummus, when child 2 saw big brother tucking in, she polished off a couple dipped in soy sauce, not to be left out “him-indoors” sprinkled a couple with hot sauce and a dollop of plain yogurt.

I came home to find my plate of pancakes had been pillaged!

I just got to wash the plate… (l did try the first one out of the pan, dipped in plum sauce, but not I’m telling them!)

You will need:
·         2 cups grated zucchini

·         2 large eggs, slightly beaten

·         2 tablespoons chopped green onion

·         1/2 cup all-purpose flour

·         1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

·         1/2 teaspoon salt & pepper

·         1/2 teaspoon baking powder

·         1 pinch dried oregano/basil/parsley /thyme (whatever you fancy)

·         1/4 cup vegetable oil,  as needed

·         1 garlic clove

·         half a cup of sour cream/plain natural yogurt

·         Optional – half a teaspoon or so of prepared horseradish

·         Optional – a dash of chipotle powder

1. In a large mixing bowl combine the drained zucchini, chopped green onions (or yellow onion lightly sautéed), herb mix (see above), one garlic clove, two eggs, salt, a healthy grind of black pepper, a dash of chipotle powder(I left this out as the kids don’t like it), and enough flour to pull it all together (about a half a cup or so).

2. Heat extra virgin olive oil in a large skillet, and while heating, make sour cream sauce:

3. Mix together a half a cup of sour cream, a half a teaspoon or so of prepared horseradish (or more depending on the strength of your particular brand), and a dash of salt and freshly ground black pepper.

4. Place heaping spoonfuls of the zucchini mixture into the hot pan, and cooked them for about two minutes per side, or until nicely golden brown (placing them onto a sheet pan in a 250º oven in between batches to keep them warm).

Instant, Chemical-Free Sun Protection You Never Have To Reapply

50+UPF Sunny Sleevez

Serve them up with a dollop of the horseradish cream and a few lemon wedges for squeezing over them. Alternate dips: hummus, soy sauce, plum sauce

Next time I’m going to try adding a grated carrot too

Let me know how yours turn out

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zucchini Pancake – Makes a great appetizer or light lunch!

  1. The human will love this recipe! I won’t touch it though, because I don’t do veggies…. I’m a kat.

    But I know it will make her happy. Thanks fur posting!

    Shrimp

  2. swedenole13 says:

    I made zucchini pancakes for breakfast today! Then fried an egg and put on top! Mine didn’t have all the ingredients you used, I will try your recipe, it sounds more flavourful! Have a happy day!

  3. I’ll definitely try these! Like your kids, I too am generally opposed to zucchini in a non-baked form… too much poorly-cooked material when I was young, I suppose. :p This recipe, however, sounds great!

  4. Patrice says:

    Sounds SOOOO GOOD!!!
    Thanks for the ‘Follow’ of my blog too 😀

  5. glutenfreeveganduo says:

    This looks amazing! I bet it would go extra well with hummus! I’ll have to try this asap! to go with this: http://glutenfreeveganduo.wordpress.com/2013/11/19/our-hummus-in-the-blender-recipe/

Leave a Reply

