DIY Deodorant – Use all natural ingredients, most of which are in your pantry!


DIY DEODORANT SHEA BEESWAXI have been using the spray deodorant for some months but I’ve found I also want something a bit more solid and portable so I gave this recipe a try.

So far I love how moisturizing it is and no reaction. I haven’t been able to test it under workout or high temp conditions but for daily use I have remained ‘whiff free’ according to my brutally honest loved ones!

My 1st batch was a little soft so as the weather is warming up I shall increase the beeswax for the next batch

I got all my ingredients online mostly through eBay where I can purchase tiny starter amounts for a few dollars.

I had already bought the Diatomaceous Earth for bug repelling (so far it’s been really effective) got coconut oil at trader Joes (we use it in cooking)GRATED BEASWAX

Shea butter I buy by the lb on eBay and use 2/1 with coconut oil as a general body lotion, I’ve found it to be really effective for my occasional eczema attacks so the only item I had to purchase for this recipe was the beeswax. I bought a pound block as I plan to use if for other things but I think if you just bought an ounce to just for this recipe you would have more than enough

  • Measure shea butter, coconut oil and beeswax into the upper part of your double-boilerGRATED WAX SHEA
  • Melt on low heat over bottom part of double-boiler or a pot with shallow water until beeswax melts
  • or microwave in small glass bowl in 30 second increments
  • Turn off heat and allow to cool for a few minutes
  • Add EO and vit E, then blend in arrowroot & DE.
  • Whisk vigorously to mix thoroughly to a smooth paste

Pour into container and allow to set – it doesn’t take very long

  • 30g Coconut oilDEODORANT TUBE
  • 20g Shea butter
  • 10g Beeswax (grated or beads)
  • 15g Arrowroot powder
  • 15g Diatomaceous Earth – Food Grade!
  • 10 drops of Tea Tree Oil
  • Vitamin E Oil (optional)

20-25 drops of lavender of other essential oils (optional)

About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Eco Info, Health, Recipes, Skin and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to DIY Deodorant – Use all natural ingredients, most of which are in your pantry!

  1. acflory says:

    I’m so impressed. I had no idea it was possible to make an effective deodorant like this. I am curious though, how do you actually apply it? And doesn’t the oiliness it stain your clothes?

  2. Kristin says:

    Wow, this is so amazing!!! I love it!!!

  3. Gloria says:

    I will have to try this. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Lee says:

    If I don’t feel like using deodorant on any particular day, I just skip it. Case solved. The most important part is proper eating, hydration, and bathing.

  5. Pingback: Follower Friday 4 | DALANEL

  6. Hi, I took a look around your site. Love all of your tips, especially the “greenness” of them. Thanks for the follow!

  7. Joe Sovereign says:

    A girl I know says one of the ingredients she uses is corn starch, but your recipe seems awesome though.

Leave a Reply

