No Cook Kale Chips – Healthy Summer Snack


Ingredients

  • 1 head kale, washed and shake to dry
  • Spray olive oil
  • Sea salt, for sprinkling

Directions

Preheat the oven to 275 degrees F.

Remove the ribs from the kale and cut or tear into 1 1/2-inch pieces. Lay on a baking sheet and spray with the olive oil and salt. Bake until crisp,turning the leaves halfway through, about 20 minutes. Serve as finger food.

Alturnatively keep the heat out of the kitchen and put the stifling heat in the car to good use.

I placed the baking dish on my dashboard of my car. I had planned to check on it after a couple of hours but forgot until it was time to pick the children up from camp at 3pm. The chips were crispy and delicious, I put the baking tray on the rear seat to bring in when we got home.

In the 10 mins it took to drive home, 2 children ate the entire tray! 

Bonus – their mouths were too busy crunching to indulge in their favorite game of winding each other up, I didn’t even mind that I could barely hear the radio over the crunching!

NUTRITION INFORMATION

Amounts per 1 cup, chopped (67g) % RDA

Vitamin A 10302 IU 206%
Vitamin C 80.4 mg 134%
Vitamin K 547 mcg 684%
Calcium 90.5 mg 9%
About sunnysleevez

I'm a freckly red head, originally from London now living in LA with 2 pale children. Frankly with our coloring we have no business being such an outdoorsy family and living in southern California. I grew up in a time when factor 8 sun milk was considered the best protection available to combat the hot rays of a holiday in southern Spain, that lead to 3rd degree burns and the rest of the vacation spent in the shade of our apartment. As a family we love to be outside, going to the beach, camping, swimming & hiking. We can't completely avoid the sun (nor should we) but taking sensible measures to avoid unnecessary UV damage is a priority. How do we do that? By staying in the shade in the middle of the day, wearing sun protective clothing (that's why I created Sunny Sleevez), a broad brimmed hat, UV rated sunglasses, using chemical-free broad spectrum sun screen on exposed areas & eating a healthy diet with as few chemicals as possible & lots of antioxidants.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to No Cook Kale Chips – Healthy Summer Snack

  1. Lynette says:

    This is awesome, but in Seattle, we don’t get enough sun/heat to do it in the car. But hey, I will definitely have to try this out in the oven! Kale is growing in the garden as we speak!

  2. Lynette says:

    Reblogged this on Momisms – Moments in Motherhood and commented:
    I love the idea of adding vegetables in all parts of the diet. And, I figure if I keep throwing vegetables at the kids, something will eventually stick, lol. These look delish and I am definitely going to try. Kale Chips!

  3. azita says:

    This is perfect! Kale is a new favorite and I’d love to give kale chips a whirl. Would make a great guilt-free snack. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Pingback: No Cook Kale Chips – Healthy Summer Snack | Sunny Sleevez | Momisms – Moments in Motherhood

  5. anitamanuell says:

    Simple, with an extraordinarily good bonus!

  6. Little Sis says:

    I LOVE the method. I’m quite sure I could have made these on my dash today. Nice to put this hideous heat to SOME good use. Thanks for the idea!

  7. the speech monster says:

    one of my fav snacks. plus it’s sooo easy to make! love it.

  8. Em Halforbes says:

    What a fantstic idea?! Will reblog this next week, and be trying it out soon too 🙂

  9. BrandiD says:

    I eat kale chips just like this (in oven) almost daily! Never thought about the other method! Couldn’t be more simpler! Yummy! Thanks for stopping by my blog too..welcome anytime! 🙂

  10. Yum!! I’m going to have to try these!

  11. Pingback: No cook kale chips: A Slimming World friendly snack | Em's Food

  12. Naturaleehappee says:

    I tried this and loved it! I like Kale raw on sandwiches so I was extra excited to try this way too!

  13. While at Weight Watchers yesterday a member with a huge garden picked and brought me a bunch of Kale to the meeting last night I tried Kale Chips for the first time! I added garlic/olive oil Sea Salt and Pepper and put them in a slightly hotter oven but boy they were WONDERFUL!!!!!!

  14. Welcome to WWWW where we pride ourselves on eating greens. I had this kale at gastropub. I thought, hmm, complicated deep fat frying……..mystery solved! THX!

Leave a Reply

